How Writers Write · Writing Mentors

Cliche, Part 1

Right now I have a wrist injury from too much typing work at my part-time day  job *sigh*, so I can’t type a lot.

Instead, I am going to share with you a hilarious, enlightening, epiphany-inducing page full of “rants” by a young woman, online name Limyaael, who has a lot to say on cliche.

Part 2, coming soon, will be a review and commentary on the late, great Diana Wynne Jones’ (Howl’s Moving Castle, anyone?) book, The Tough Guide to Fantasyland. This book has great reviews on Amazon.com and, from what I can see of the excerpts, is very funny and astute in its observations of the cliches in many fantasy books. I am reading it to try and weed cliches out of my fantasy book while I work on draft 2.

Here is the link to the rants on cliche. My apologies; I believe I may have linked to it in a previous post, briefly. Here is a second opportunity for you to read some of Limyaael’s genius!

Howl’s Moving Castle, written by Diana Wynne Jones Adapted to film by animator Hayao Miyazaki

Happy writing! =)

-Chaitanya

3 thoughts on “Cliche, Part 1

Leave a Reply

